Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Dickinson College Commentaries

 [First posted in AWOL 18 May 2012, updated 18 May 2016]

Dickinson College Commentaries

[n.b. Dickinson College commentaries are beginning to appear also as books (and facsimiles of books) from Open Book Publishers. Ovid, Amores (Book 1), By William Turpin, has just appeared]


 
Latin and Greek texts with explanatory notes, vocabulary, and graphic, video and audio elements, for readers of Greek and Latin. Submissions to the series are welcome.
Dickinson College Commentaries presents Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, interpretive essays, vocabulary, and multimedia elements. The format has two columns, one with plain text on the left, and another on the right with three tabs for notes, vocabulary, and media. The commentaries are peer-reviewed, citable scholarly resources, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License (CC BY-SA). Support for the project comes from the Christopher Roberts Fund for Classical Studies at Dickinson College, the Mellon Fund for Digital Humanities at Dickinson College, and Dickinson's Research and Development Committee. The Project Director is Christopher Francese, Asbury J. Clarke Professor of Classical Studies at Dickinson College (francese@dickinson.edu).
Portrait of Julius Caesar in Greek marble, recently found in a cistern (#861) from the Pantelleria acropolis in Sicily. Photo: Roger B. Ulrich

Caesar

Gallic War selections
Christopher Francese
Read Online

Callimachus

Aetia
Susan Stephens
Read Online

Cicero

Against Verres 2.1.53–86
Ingo Gildenhard
Read Online
Get Print Book

Cicero

On Pompey’s Command (De Imperio), 27-49
Ingo Gildenhard, Louise Hodgson, et al.
Read Online
Get Print Book

Core Vocabularies

Latin and Ancient Greek
Christopher Francese
Read Online

Cornelius Nepos

Life of Hannibal
Bret Mulligan
Read
Get Print Book

Lucian

True Histories, Book 1
Eric Casey, Evan Hayes, and Stephen Nimis
Read Online
Get Print Book

Ovid

Amores Book 1
William Turpin
Read Online

Sulpicius Severus

The Life of Saint Martin of Tours
Christopher Francese
Read Online

No comments:

Post a Comment