Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Ovid Amores Book 1 in Dickinson College Commentaries

New in  Dickinson College Commentaries: Latin and Greek texts with explanatory notes, vocabulary, and graphic, video and audio elements, for readers of Greek and Latin. Submissions to the series are welcome.


Amores Book 1
Ovid began in his late teens to write Amores (“Love Affairs”), many to a woman he calls Corinna. Originally collected in five books, he re-published them in the shorter, three-book edition we now have, sometime after 16 BC. The first book consists of fifteen poems plus a brief preface. These witty elegies established the young Ovid’s reputation as the leading Roman poet of love in the age of Augustus.
Notes and essays by William Turpin
Go to text

No comments:

Post a Comment